November 1, 2008
00:06
Radiohead - Ceremony (Orig. by Joy Division) Here’s my (late) Fri. cover song of the day…
Author: gcn 
November 2, 2008
08:34
The Water Walk - Stop Saying (Taken from Thingamajig, 1990) A band from Vancouver, BC that released this album of catchy, well-written pop songs and then were never heard from again as band.
Author: gcn 
November 3, 2008
07:53
Sharing Campaign Fund Raising Money!
Author: gcn 
19:01
Snailhouse - Not Superstitious (Taken from Lies on the Prize) Heard this song listening to CBC Radio 3 online… this is the solo project of Montreal-based musician Mike Feuerstack who collaborated with the drummer of Arcade Fire on this alb
Author: gcn 
November 4, 2008
07:09
Seven Blunders of the World

The Seven Blunders of the World is a list that Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi gave to his grandson Arun Gandhi:

* Wealth without work
* Pleasure without conscience
* Knowledge without character
* Commerce without morality
* Science without humanity
* Worship without sacrifice
* Politics without principle

This list grew from Gandhi’s search for the roots of violence. He called these acts of passive violence. Preventing these is the best way to prevent oneself or one’s society from reaching a point of violence.

To this list, Arun Gandhi added an eighth blunder, rights without responsibilities

Author: gcn 
19:24
Nine Inch Nails - Head Like a Hole This song seems appropriate for a day like today…
Author: gcn 
November 5, 2008
16:47
Little Joy - Brand New Start Here’s a new band that features Fab Moretti from the Strokes… I would describe this as loungey folk music.
Author: gcn 
November 6, 2008
23:21
My Song of the Day: The Push Stars - Millionaire “I want to be the American Dream I want to learn the handshakes Smile while I’m back stabbing I want a blonde in a black limosine Who’s drinking Don Perignon
Author: gcn 
November 7, 2008
07:33
The newest fool-proof and most reliable stock market indicator… $$
Author: gcn 
20:24
My Friday Cover Song: Radiohead - Cinnamon Girl (Orig. by Neil Young)
Author: gcn 
November 8, 2008
10:00
Song of the Day: Born Ruffians - I Need A Life More great Canadian music! If you like Vampire Weekend or Ra Ra Riot, you’ll like these guys! Great, upbeat indie pop music!
Author: gcn 
16:37
Hell in a hand basket…
Author: gcn 
November 9, 2008
21:22
My Song of the Day: Pretty & Nice - Tora, Tora, Tora Sure, it’s 2008 but this Boston-based band takes us back to 1978. Heavily influenced by XTC, Squeeze, and Elvis Costello. Not bad if you like New Wave influenced pop music!
Author: gcn 
November 11, 2008
22:07
Luna - 23 Minutes in Brussels I’m reminded of a certain late-night NYC vibe whenever I listen to Luna…
Author: gcn 
November 12, 2008
08:26
One of the greatest delusions in the world is the hope that the evils in this world are to be cured by legislation.
Thomas B. Reed
Author: gcn 
22:57
My Song of the Day: The Smiths - Stretch Out and Wait
Author: gcn 
November 13, 2008
07:48
Fed Money for the Strong

Read this in a NYT article: Life Insurers Facing Cuts in Ratings:

Most life insurers have been unwilling to say whether they want to apply or not, for fear of sending a signal that they might need financial assistance. MetLife, one of the nation’s largest insurers, declined to comment on its interest through a spokesman, but many observers expect the company to apply for federal money, not because it is teetering, but to build a war chest for acquisitions.

Should taxpayer money be handed over to companies who don’t need it? Like in this case MetLife.

I’m thinking that instead of giving money to a struggling, on the brink company, with no assurances that they will survive, it seems to make more sense to give cheap fed money to the strong players so that they can go out there and mop up the financial mess. A kind of in-direct government, free market bailout. The big assumption here is that the money will be used for investing purposes as part of a broad market stabilization plan and not hoarded or given out as bonuses.

MetLife has the industry/financial expertise the government doesn’t have to identify the right opportunities and act on them. I’m sure the outcomes will be a heck of a lot better than the government dishing out cash to every wounded bird out there. Not everything is worth saving, let the markets decide.

Author: gcn 
08:43
Author: gcn 
November 14, 2008
20:34
Friday Cover Song: African Underground All-Stars - Desire (Orig. by U2)
Author: gcn 
November 15, 2008
08:11
Song of the Day: Daniel Lanois - Still Water (Taken from Acadie) I heard Daniel Lanois live in studio on CBC Radio 2 Drive and had to share this song this morning. In case you didn’t know, he has produced Bob Dylan, U2, Neville Brothers, P
Author: gcn 
November 16, 2008
22:43
Song of the Day: Fiction Family - When She’s Near Here is a collaboration between Switchfoot leader singer Jon Foreman and Nickel Creek guitarist Sean Watkins. This is the first single from the album due out in January. You can hear The B
Author: gcn 
November 18, 2008
10:40
The most potent weapon in the hands of the oppressor is the mind of the oppressed.
Steven Biko
Author: gcn 
11:13
Song of the Day: Blue Rodeo - So Far Away (Taken from Small Miracles) A very good country rock band from Toronto! If you like the Jayhawks, Son Volt or Wilco, you should like Blue Rodeo.
Author: gcn 
13:54
Author: gcn 
November 19, 2008
22:55
Song of the Day: Jens Lekman - The Opposite of Hallelujah (Taken from Night Falls Over Kortedala)
Author: gcn 
November 20, 2008
12:26
Song of the Day: Sinead O’Connor - Mandinka (Taken from Lion And The Cobra)
Author: gcn 
November 21, 2008
21:49
Friday Cover Song: Damhnait Doyle - Train in Vain (Orig. by the Clash)
Author: gcn 
November 22, 2008
22:39
Song of the Day: Museum Pieces - I’ve Been Away (Taken from City of Brotherly Love EP) More great Canadian indie music! This is music you want to listen to on a late wintery night.
Author: gcn 
November 23, 2008
10:44
I make a brief appearance near the end of Thursday nights lead news story on CBCs the National that covered the economic and stock market situation. Back in May when our investment club was first profiled by the CBC, the TSX hit just over 15000 and now
Author: gcn 
14:17
Song of the Day: Museum Pieces - Stand Still (Taken from Nor You, Nor You)
Author: gcn 
November 25, 2008
23:09
Sheltered in Sound - No Words Low key, indie folk music in the vein of Hayden, Nick Drake or Nebraska-era Bruce Springsteen. “Words can harm, words can heal Words can give, words can steal Words can starve, words can fee
Author: gcn 
November 26, 2008
07:16
Author: gcn 
07:27
Author: gcn 
20:13
Song of the Day: The Priddle Concern - Videotape (Taken from The Priddle Concern) If you are a fan of Treble Charger, you will hear a familiar voice. Recorded with 3 members of Broken Social Scene, this song (and album) features a good
Author: gcn 
23:11
Four Bad Bear Markets Compared
Author: gcn 
November 27, 2008
09:54
Song of the Day: Horse Feathers - Finch on Saturday Lots of great music coming out of Portland, Oregon… this folk indie song is just an acoustic guitar accompanied by strings. Beautiful music. For fans of The Decemberists and/or The Shins
Author: gcn 
22:01
CNBC Interview or SNL Skit? There is something funny about this CNBC clip of Maria Bartiromo interviewing Price Al-Waleed bin Talal (Citi’s largest shareholder and Arabian Oil Pimp). This could easily be a SNL skit… remember Fath
Author: gcn 
November 28, 2008
07:25
I have to say that banking is the surest, easiest business I have ever seen or known. If you’re not actually stupid or dishonest, it’s hard not to make money in banking.
George S. Moore, head of Citibank (now Citigroup Inc.) until 1970, in his 1987 memoir, The Banker’s Life.
Author: gcn 
21:51
Friday Cover Song: Sheltered in Sound - Dancing in the Dark (Orig. by Bruce Springsteen)
Author: gcn 
November 29, 2008
07:41
Song of the Day: Ray Lamontagne - Forever My Friend (Taken from Trouble) I completely overlooked Ray Lamontagne’s latest release… which was a big mistake. He’s really good… I ended up picking up all of his releases last w
Author: gcn 
November 30, 2008
11:42
The Hands - Nothing This garage rock song should get you moving on a Sunday morning… these guys obviously like the Rolling Stones!
Author: gcn